Dairy AllergyIf you suffer from a dairy/milk allergy you must stay away from all milk products and foods containing milk. These foods include milk and milk solids, powdered milk, buttermilk, evaporated milk, yogurt, cream, cream cheese, sour cream, cheese, cheese powder, cheese sauce, butter, butter fat, artificial butter flavor, curds, whey and whey products and cottage cheese. In addition you must avoid any and all foods containing these ingredients: lactalbumin, lactalbumin phosphate, lactoglobulin, casein, caseinates, lactose, rennet, nougat, whey. Remember to read the labels to make sure that what you are getting is 100% free of dairy.
What are the best choices?
- grain based beverages
- non-dairy ice cream, chocolate, cheese, and yogurts
Common and Hidden Sources: baked goods, breaded foods, chocolate and candies, coffee creamers and “non-dairy” creamers, au gratin, creamed or scalloped foods, mashed potatoes, custard, pudding, ice cream, sherbet, nougat, malted milk, margarines, processed meats, canned fish, soy cheese, white sauces, salad dressing, and mayonnaise.
Not sure? When in doubt – do without!