"Thanksgiving is a day centered around turkey, stuffing, rolls, sweet potatoes and desserts. For those who are gluten intolerant, a traditional Thanksgiving dinner is on of the most allergen-laden meals possible. Take heart! The following tips and recipes will make it festive, delicious and safe."
- Judy Mayer, DTR
What is gluten intolerance?
Gluten intolerance (or celiac disese) is a digestive condition triggered by eating gluten. Gluten is a protein found in wheat and other flours. When a person with gluten intolerance eats foods containing gluten, an immune reaction occurs in the small intestine, causing damage to the villi on the surface of the small intesting and an inability to absorb nutrients from food. Many people with celiac disease often suffer from other food allergies.
Most conventional , "self-basted" turkeys have been injected with butter, water and salt. They may also contain gluten. If you are going to go the conventional turkey route, always verify ingredients with the manufacturer before purchasing. Or choose a naturally raised turkey which hasn't been treated with any artificial colors or flavor enhancing ingredients. Look for naturally raised, organic or heritage turkeys at Outpost. You can be confident there will be no hidden ingredients! Lastly, to keep your turkey allergen-free, baste with olive oil.
Gravy can be made with olive oil instead of butter. Alternate flours, such as brown rice flour, for thickening instead of traditional wheat flour.
Vegetables, fruits and cranberry sauce are naturally gluten-free - enjoy in abundance! for stuffing there are many choices if you don't have the time. Outpost carries a variety of gluten-free dinner rolls, breads, stuffing mixes, pie crusts - even pies!
Check out these tried and true gluten-free recipes!